FRS Institutes Leadership Team

The FRS Institute Leadership Team is comprised of educational thought leaders who have expertise implementing digital learning practice, along with extensive knowledge and enthusiasm for use of Future Ready Schools materials.

The FRS Institute facilitators and program strand leaders have worked together to develop an action packed with personalized professional learning that models high-quality professional development practices lead by expert facilitators.

Strand Leaders

Jimmy Casas
FRS Principal Strand Leader
Brad Gustafson
FRS Principal Strand Leader
Brianna Hodges
FRS Instructional Coach/Teacher Leader Strand Leader
Carl Hooker
FRS IT Strand Leader
Suzanne Lacey
FRS District Leadership Strand Leader
Shannon McClintock Miller
FRS Librarians Strand Leaders
Shannon served as the K–12 district teacher librarian at Van Meter Community School District in Iowa for eight years. She is now an international speaker and consultant who has a passion for education, librarianship, technology, social media, and making a difference in the world and lives of others, especially children. Shannon is a spokesperson for both the Future Ready Librarians and Project Connect programs, Buncee’s teacher librarian advisor and Cantata Learning’s teacher librarian advocate.
Mark Ray
FRS Librarians Strand Leaders
Mark is currently the Director of Innovation and Library Services, Vancouver Public Schools (WA) and a Future Ready Librarians lead. Having been a twenty-year teacher librarian and instructional technology facilitator, Mark was the 2012 Washington State Teacher of the Year and named to the National School Boards Association’s “20 to Watch” list in 2015. His work has focused on digital learning, professional development, and re-imagining school librarians and libraries.
Joe Sanfellippo
FRS District Leadership Strand Leader
Vince Schievert
FRS IT Strand Leader
Sarah Thomas
FRS Instructional Coach/Teacher Leader Strand Leader

Institute Facilitators

Abby Futrell
FRS Institute Facilitator
Nancy Mangum
FRS Institute Facilitator
Nany Mangum is the Digital Learning Lead, The Friday Institute for Educational Innovation at North Carolina State University. She is passionate about helping educators create learning environments that empower all students and ignite their passion for learning and teaching. Nancy has developed several comprehensive programs for school leaders, including the Leadership in Blended and Digital Learning program that is being run in sixteen organizations and states around the country. Her work at the Friday Institute also includes guiding principals and district leaders as they implement digital transitions through leadership development, strategic planning, and coaching.
Jeff Mao
FRS Institute Facilitator
Jeff is the Senior Director of Education at Common Sense Education. He joined Common Sense Education in fall 2014, where he leads their national outreach programs and provides strategic consulting to states and districts on the effective implementation of digital learning programs. Prior to joining Common Sense Education, Jeff served as the learning technology policy director for the Maine Department of Education. Jeff also served as a cofacilitator for the FRS summits in partnership with the Alliance for Excellent Education.
Tom Murray
FRS Institute Facilitator
Tom serves as director of innovation for Future Ready Schools. He has testified before the U.S. Congress and works alongside school leaders nationwide to implement student-centered, personalized learning. Tom serves as a regular conference keynote speaker, was named to the National School Boards Association’s “20 to Watch” list as one of the top twenty thought leaders in education, named “Education Policy Person of the Year” by the Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2015, and named “Education Thought Leader of the Year” in 2017.
Mary Ann Wolf, PhD
FRS Institute Facilitator
Mary Ann is Director of Digital Learning Programs, Friday Institute for Educational Innovation at North Carolina State University. She began her career in education as a fifth-grade teacher and has worked with national, state, district, and school leaders across the country in building capacity for personalized and digital learning. She and her team lead ongoing, job-embedded professional learning to guide superintendents, district teams, principals, coaches, and teachers.